Taking Your Work to Worship

How often do we try to isolate the Sunday morning worship experience from the rest of the week?  I’ve have even said from the pulpit, “Lord, allow us to concentrate on you.  Let us forget all the cares of the previous week.”  As I walk down this journey on a path to fully integrating what I believe with how I work, I’ve come to realize how absolutely wrong that is.  I am purposefully creating a dichotomy in my life.  I am isolate what I see is Holy and what I see is secular.  I am creating a schizophrenic mind when it comes to work and worship, when it come to the sacred and the rest of life.

Now, I believe that there is a place to worship God just for who He is.  This is called adoration.  Adoration is a huge part of worship.  We should be able to worship God no matter the circumstances of our lives.  However; thanksgiving is just as big a part of worship as adoration is.  Thanksgiving is worshiping God for what He has done.  Thanksgiving is simply giving thanks for specific things God has done in our lives.  We should come to worship prepared to vocally give thanks to God for what He has done in our lives within the past week.  If He has given us a job, we should give thanks.  If He has given us success within that job we should give thanks.  If He has allowed our company and our colleagues to be successful we should give thanks.  If He has prevented us from stumbling into failure either financial or ethical we should give thanks.  We should bring our week into the worship service and use it as fuel for our worship!

Following this train of thought for a little bit, led me to another question.  When was the last time God answered one of your prayers for your work?  Which begs a question.  When was the last time you prayed for your work?  Can you pray for your work?  Can you honestly ask God to make you successful in your job?  Do you ask God to help your co-workers, Christian and non-Christian, succeed?  Can you ask God for the success of your company?  Can you ask Him to help your company achieve its purpose?  Why or why not?  Are you working at a company that if they succeed God would be pleased?

I was thinking about this in my own personal life.  Now first and foremost, I work in a Christian ministry so of course I can pray that the ministry succeeds.  I try very hard to make sure that purposes of the ministry are also the purposes of God.  But I also work at Drexel University.  Can I pray that Drexel succeeds in reaching its purpose.  Drexel’s mission statement is:

To serve our students and society through comprehensive integrated academic offerings enhanced by technology, co-operative education, and clinical practice in an urban setting, with global outreach embracing research, scholarly activities, and community initiatives.

There is a lot in that statement that I can get behind in prayer.  I think it would acceptable to God that I can work to help Drexel achieve its mission and have no problem asking Him to join me in that endeavor.  Can you say that about your company?  Have you ever thought whether God would want your company to succeed or not?  If you start praying about your job then you might actually have specific answered prayers to fuel your worship next Sunday.  And instead of leaving your week outside of the worship service, you can bring it in and celebrate!

Now, I understand there may be a huge difference between what your company’s purposes is and the methods they use to fulfill it.  While I have full confidence that God would be pleased if Drexel succeeded in fulfilling its purpose, I also know that he is grieved byt some of the means in which it tries to fulfill that purpose.  This is true for every human entity, including specifically spiritual ones.  You do not have to pray that God blesses the wrong within the system.  You can pray that the system succeeds in achieving good things with good means.

About Brian Musser

Rev. Brian Musser is the Baptist Campus Minister at Drexel University in Philadelphia, PA. View all posts by Brian Musser

Leave a Reply

